A safer ride

. June 17, 2013.
dad_buckling_car_seat5116017-541x360

The state of Ohio is ensuring that all children have a safer ride with its recent change in the child passenger safety law. The new law requires that children younger than 8 use a booster seat, unless they are at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall. This is combined with existing laws which requires that children younger than 4 years and less than 40 pounds use a safety seat; and children 8 to 15 use a safety seat or seat belt. “Seat belts were designed for adults — not children,” said Ohio Department of Health Director Alvin D. Jackson, M.D. Law enforcement will issue warnings through April 7, 2010; then, full enforcement will be pursued, with fines ranging from $25 to $75 per violation. “Don’t wait for a warning or a ticket,” Jackson said. “Help protect your children today by buying a booster seat.”