Catholic Schools Honor Teachers Receive 2016 Golden Apple Awards

Nine teachers from the Toledo-based 19-county Catholic Diocese received 2016 Golden Apple Awards honoring their dedication to Catholic Education. The 2016 winners are: Sr. Elayne Bockey, St. Wendelin School in Fostoria; Greg Boyle, Our Lady of Consolation School in Carey; Ann Davis, Bishop Hoffman Catholic School in Fremont; Beth Morman, St. Gerard Catholic School in Lima; Mary Ellen Peters, Gesu School in Toledo; Sr. Berneta Schneider, Central Catholic High School in Toledo; Jane Shaffer, St. Patrick School in Bryan; Linda Smith, St. Benedict Catholic School in Toledo; and Joan Zunk, St. Joseph School in Sylvania. The Diocese is conducting a search for a new superintendent to replace Christopher Knight, who is leaving to take the position of Superintendent of the 114 schools of the Cleveland Catholic Diocese.